Between Perth and Tore, to the north of Inverness, the A9 is a mix of single and dual carriageway sections. There are currently a total of nine dual carriageway sections which is approximately 32% of the overall distance, however those sections are relatively short and the route is predominately single carriageway. 

There are dual carriageway sections:

  • Northwards from Inveralmond Roundabout at Perth for 4 kilometres,
  • Pass of Birnam for 2 kilometres,
  • Northwards from Ballinluig for 6.5 kilometres,
  • Faskally for 0.5 kilometres,
  • Killiecrankie for 2 kilometres,
  • Between Dalnarcardoch and Dalnaspidal for 10 kilometres,
  • Crubenmore for 4.7 kilometres,
  • Tomatin for 5.5 kilometres and
  • From Moy south of Inverness to Tore Roundabout.

There are four sections of 2 + 1 carriageway at Moy, Kincraig, Nuide and Carrbridge, with the two lane sections being for northbound traffic at Kincraig, Carrbridge and Moy.

Traffic within this section is subject to the national speed limit.

The major towns with junctions on the A9 along this section are:

  • Bankfoot
  • Dunkeld
  • Pitlochry
  • Newtonmore
  • Aviemore

The single carriageway sections of the A9 between Perth and Inverness are DMRB compliant with excellent forward visibility presenting good overtaking opportunities. Carriageway widths are in excess of 7.5 metres throughout with 1 metre hard edge strips. Dual carriageway sections are 2 x 7.5 metre carriageway with few side road  central reservation gaps. There are four 2+1 sections between Perth and Inverness. The Scottish Government’s dualling programme for the A9 commenced in 2015.